Details about TOMFRA's Awards & Sponsorships

Raiford Stripling Scholarship
In honor of one of our founders, Raiford Stripling, a distinguished restoration architect, TOMFRA annually
presents two Raiford Stripling Scholarships to students in Restoration Architecture at Texas A&M University.
This recognizes the life and work of Stripling, an A&M graduate of the class of 1931, who became known
as the Dean of Historic Preservation in Texas.

The scholarship is in the amount of $1,000 and is awarded by the Department of Architecture at the
Spring Awards Ceremony. Selection of the recipients will be made by the A&M Scholarship Committee
based on their standard criteria. The recipients must be either a graduate student in the Master of Architecture Program or an incoming student into
the program, each of whom are also candidates for a Certificate in Historic Preservation. As part of the application process, the Stripling Scholar
must commit to making a presentation at the next TOMFRA Annual Meeting on a topic related to preservation architecture in Texas. A paper may
be considered for publication in our journal,
El Campanario .

The scholarship, first presented in 2003, replaces the Raiford Stripling Memorial Award which had been presented to an outstanding student in
preservation architecture at Texas A&M for the preceding 11 years.

Texas History Day Award
In programs for history students at the annual Texas History Day State Contest, TOMFRA presents awards to students for exhibits involving the
Spanish Colonial or Military History of Texas. This contest is administered through the Texas State Historical Association. The subject matter of the
exhibit must also comply with the announced theme of Texas History Day for that year.

TOMFRA Book Award
TOMFRA sponsors a book award for an outstanding published book pertaining to Spanish Colonial Texas and Texas Forts through the Civil War. The award carries a monetary prize of $500, assuming an acceptable winner. The award is named after and funded and administered by Tomfra. The award is presented at the annual Texas State Historical Association business meeting in March of each year.

To be eligible for the competition, work should meet the following criteria:
  • Only published books may be nominated—articles do not qualify nor do manuscripts.
  • The subject matter must pertain wholly or principally to Texas between 1528 and 1880.
  • Books published during both the current and preceding year are eligible.
  • Copies of the book, with accompanying letter of nomination, are to be sent to each of the two organizations
and the Catholic Archives of Texas.
  • Entries must be received by December 31st of the year. 

List of all TOMFRA Book Award Honorees

Teacher Membership Awards
A complimentary one-year membership is given to teachers who are interested in Texas history or teaching it. The award is open to public and
private school teachers. The intent is that the teachers will enjoy our organization, its mission, and commit to becoming TOMFRA members after
that first year.

 TOMFRA Award Winners-2011

The Texas Old Missions and Forts Restoration Association
"That their relics shall not be lost or their memories vanish in the mists of time"
The announcement in the contest guide for Texas History Day reads as follows:

The Texas Old Missions and Forts Restoration Association Award is given to exhibits involving the missions and/or forts
in Texas. The exhibit might involve a single fort or mission, or a group of the same, or might involve the history,
information on the preservation of the site, a historical event, an individual or group of individuals associated with a fort
or mission, or how the fort or mission played a significant role in the history of Texas and the United States. Winners
receive a medal and $100. Sponsored by the Texas Old Missions and Forts Restoration Association.